I don’t have flowers

I can’t have flowers.

My buds dried

my leaves reflect no light.

 

The darkness they need,

so they won’t shine brighter than the need

and discover in their innocence

that reality is a lonely night.

 

I can’t have flowers.

I’m a tree that gives fruits after branches

and leaves after roots,

buried in the spaces

between  times distinct and wise.

 

I don’t want to give flowers.

So I won’t perfume the airs

that I won’t breathe.

– Júlio C. Carlos (Poems of Sanity)

Leave a Reply

